City Council passes emergency vacation rental ordinance | Williams-Grand Canyon News


Williams, Arizona - The Williams City Council unanimously passed an emergency short-term lease ordinance at its October 13 meeting.

The ordinance is a response to new statewide legislation that allows cities to regulate short-term rentals.

The new law will require homeowners to obtain a permit with different requirements applicable.

In July, the Arizona legislature passed legislation that now allows cities to create a licensing process for landlords hosting short-term rentals.

Senate Bill 1168 was enacted to hold landlords accountable and prevent large groups from spiraling out of control. The law does not require permits, but does allow cities the option to create a permit for short-term rental homes. Cities like Scottsdale, Mesa, Sedona, and many others are now implementing permits.

The legislation focuses on landlords who rent out their homes as party homes. Part of the licensing process requires that neighbors be informed that one’s home will be used as a short-term rental. The city estimates that 1/3 of the homes in Williams are now short-term rentals and will be affected by this change

The new ordinance in Williams requires, among other conditions, that landlords have a fire/safety check signed by the city’s fire director.

There is also an annual inspection fee of $65, and homeowners must provide proof of liability insurance. They must also live in the United States.

The city will also require a permit fee of $125 for the first year and $75 for each year of renewal.

The city may refuse the permit if the applicant fails to meet the above requirements, is a registered sex offender, has been convicted of a felony that resulted in death or serious injury, or has been convicted of a felony with a deadly weapon within the past five years.

Owners should also have an emergency contact point that can respond to the rental vaction within one hour. For non-emergency contacts, the owner must respond within 24 hours via email, text, or phone.

This connection must be on file with the city. The point of contact must also be posted at the residence.

The city may impose penalties of up to $1,000 if the owner fails to provide the information to the city. The city may also suspend a vacation rental permit for up to 12 months for three verified violations that include, solid or aesthetic waste disposal or parking that poses a threat to public health and safety.